Albert Scaglione featured on the Huffington Post

Park West Gallery founder and CEO Albert Scaglione and artist Autumn de Forest inside Park West Gallery's Southfield, Michigan Headquarters

Park West Gallery founder and CEO Albert Scaglione and artist Autumn de Forest inside Park West Gallery’s Southfield, Michigan Headquarters

In 1969, Albert Scaglione founded Park West Gallery, a company that would drastically change the way fine art was collected. In an interview on the Huffington Post, Park West Gallery‘s founder and CEO spoke about his passion for art, the sense of adventure he has fused into Park West and building an unrivaled experience around art collecting.

From a young age, Scaglione realized that art speaks to everyone, but many people feel too intimidated to enter the art world. He says even his own parents felt this way and never thought they could have artwork of their own. Scaglione set out to change this perception by founding Park West Gallery. Today, Park West Gallery spreads a love for art through 104 art galleries on cruise ships, providing an experience that is as memorable as the artwork.

I came from a middle class family and studied to be an engineer but art really became a constant pulling in my life. When I was 16 years old I applied for a job at an art gallery. I took the job and it was fascinating. I worked there for 2 summers. When I was in highschool I dressed in a suit everyday. I like suits, ties, fashion and shoes. I liked looking right. When I was at Wayne state, teaching engineering, I kept wandering over to where the artists were. I decided to leave teaching and open an art gallery.

Read the full interview on the Huffington Post

Leave a Reply

